If Not Now When?


Incubus Live in Manila

Araneta Coliseum, Quezon City

July 28, 2011

It’s raining the whole week (thanks to the tropical monsoon), but still nothing can dampen my spirits when Thursday the 28th of July arrived for my much awaited concert of the year! My top favorite band is about to return to Manila to indulge their fans the third time and promote their latest album, “If Not Now When”.

I’m so excited that day that I don’t even know what to wear, wasn’t able to eat well, and do my work at the office. We arrived at the venue, 1 hour before the said time which is 8pm. We gobbled some fries and a bottle of beer. I’m so much excited that 1 hour of waiting for the concert to start is such an agony and pain.

We are seated at the lower box about 100 meters away from the stage, the view is not that bad, though I still want to be located at the mosh pit area, to have a closer view of the band (But hey that is only what can I afford-4800 pesos!!!). The General Admission is the first area to be fully occupied, other areas took some time to be populated.

As the lights went dimmer, signaling that the concert would soon start, people including me screamed. Few minutes had passed and the front act-Franco started playing. They played 5 songs, including my favorite track “Castaway”. As soon as they finished, my anticipation elevated more! Bright yellow stage lights flooded the stage area, illuminating the whole coliseum, as some guys fixed the stage area. Screamed rang down the arena when finally, the lights went dimmer, and the band finally came out!!!!

I screamed all my heart and soul out! I stood to have a better view, and then I don’t know what to do; will I take picture, will I continue screaming, will I take video?! Tell you my mind just wandered the whole time. Seeing the band for the first time, for a fan like me, who won’t be captivated?!

Screams continue to flood the airwaves, and then they sang their first song-“Megalomanic”, people joined the band in singing especially the chorus part. The louder I screamed and went gaga when they hit their second song–“Wish You Were Here”, my top most favorite song of them. And the list went on, “Pardon Me”, “The Warmth”, “Drive”, “Circles”, “Talk Shows on Mute”, & “Ana Molly”. To complete the set they also added three tracks from their latest album including: “Isadore”, “Adolescents”, and “Promises, Promises”.  It was a full blast of set, just a right combination of classic and new tracks. I joined the band singing, well actually screaming the lyrics out while head banging to their songs.

As the set ended, lights went out and the band went down from the stage. But fans, still blow minded by the concert, still stood high and hoped that the band would still come out and play more! It’s an encore! People inside the stadium shouted in chorus that we wanted more. Few minutes of hoping, praying, and begging that they would somehow hear our screamed prayers, finally they went out and played! They sang 3 songs, the first one is “I Miss You”, then followed by “In the Company of Wolves”, and last but surely not the least “Nice to Know You”. Such generosity in there when they hear out the encore of their Filipino fans, three more songs-what more can we ask for?!

I don’t mind anymore how much the tickets cost; because I know that it is all worth it. If not know when?! But I do now that they would definitely be back anytime soon, after seeing the tremendous Filipino crowd singing, screaming, and banging their heads with the band, their travel here is definitely worth it. The night is totally epic! It was a surreal experience, but my tired body proved that this is real! Saw the band, heard them performed, and saw Brandon Boyd’s abs….was a hell of an experience.


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


15 responses to “If Not Now When?

  1. I do not even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post was good. I do not know who you are but definitely you are going to a famous blogger if you aren’t already 😉 Cheers!

  2. I became honored to obtain a call from a friend when he observed the important recommendations shared on your site. Reading through your blog article is a real wonderful experience. Many thanks for thinking about readers much like me, and I desire for you the best of success being a professional in this field.

  3. Please let me know if you’re looking for a writer for your blog. You have some really great posts and I believe I would be a good asset. If you ever want to take some of the load off, I’d love to write some material for your blog in exchange for a link back to mine. Please send me an email if interested. Cheers!

  4. I just like the helpful information you provide for your articles. I will bookmark your weblog and take a look at once more here frequently. I’m relatively sure I will learn many new stuff right right here! Best of luck for the next!

  5. Thank you for sharing superb informations. Your site is so cool. I’m impressed by the details that you have on this web site. It reveals how nicely you perceive this subject. Bookmarked this website page, will come back for extra articles. You, my pal, ROCK! I found simply the info I already searched everywhere and simply could not come across. What a perfect site.

Leave a Reply

